Skip to content

My First Mid-Wife Appointment (Long)

April 20, 2010
I’m so glad this is not my first pregnancy, otherwise I would be freaked out beyond belief.  Yesterday I had my first mid-wife appointment (I’m 10.5 wks now) and other than peeing on a stick that I got a Wal-Mart, I haven’t gotten any confirmation that this pregnancy isn’t all in my head.  People can do that yanno… Want to be pregnant so bad that their body will mimic all of the signs and symptoms.  Trust me – this isn’t the case here.
Anyways, I got to meet my primary mid-wife for the first time yesterday.  She seems rather nice, and has three kids of her own.  We spent an hour discussing my history – Princess S was born a month early at a hospital with an OB attending, had difficulty nursing and I suffered from a nasty case of PPD which cleared up nicely when I returned to work. Princess B was delivered at a hospital two weeks early under the care of two mid-wives, who unfortunately I had never met from the practice until I went into labour.  Princess B was a champion nurser, but I suffered from PPD again.  The second PPD case took longer to clear up and I think I’ve only finally felt better these past four months.
Both labours were fast: 5.5 hrs and 3.5 hrs respectively, so my mid-wife spent a considerable amount of time trying to convince me to have a homebirth.  I’ve had two kids naturally with no complications, both with fast labours – so my history makes me an excellent candidate for a homebirth.  She has cautioned me that I may not have enough time once I realize I’m in labour, contact the mid-wives & drive 30 min to the nearest hospital.  I get that.  But I want a hospital birth – for some reason I feel more comfortable there moaning and groaning about the pain.  I don’t want my kids to see mommy in pain – I don’t want my daughters afraid of childbirth. I also don’t want to try and keep a clean house at the end of my pregnancy so that it’s presentable.  I’m the type of person that would try to prepare little sandwiches, snacks and drinks for those attending me while I’m in labour.  I just want to focus on my breathing – not what people think of my house.  I also like that I can relax and recover for a day at the hospital before going home and having little people whine that they want to go to the park & that they’re thirsty.
Don’t get me wrong – I strongly believe in natural births, breastfeeding past a year, co-sleeping and baby wearing – but homebirths aren’t for me.
After taking my history my wid-wife weighed me – I was surprised to find out I lost 1 lb since I found out I was pregnant, which means that over the past three weeks I’ve lost the three pounds I initially gained, plus one additional pound.  I’ve had a lot of nausea, and no desire to eat – surviving solely on fruit, crackers and cereal, but I didn’t think I’d consumed that little because I’ve been eating my three favourite things non-stop.  Want to lose weight? Live on fruit, crackers and cereal!
She then took my blood pressure – 90 over 60 (this apparently is the low-end of normal).  I’ve had dizziness and near fainting in my two past pregnancies from my blood pressure, so this is something that will need to be monitored.  She cautioned that if it got too low she may not allow me to drive.  If that happens I’ll need to find someone to carpool to work with.  Hubby joked that he and the kids could try stressing me out to help raise it.  He’s got a point – I haven’t felt the least bit stressed out lately.
Then she got me up on the bed (I love that the mid-wife office I go to is set up like a home with bedrooms instead of exam rooms – it’s still sterile, but very comfy and reassuring).  She tried to find the baby’s heart beat with the doppler, but couldn’t find it.  She then palpated to find the top of my uterus – she felt it, it’s just reached the top of my pelvis and should begin rising up shortly.  I wonder when I’ll need to start wearing maternity clothes?
All in all it was a good appointment, but not overly reassuring that everything is ok.  I was really hoping to hear a heart beat to make this seem more real.  Sure sore boobs, nausea and fatigue are real – but that doesn’t compare to seeing, hearing or feeling the alien that has invaded my body.  In two weeks I’ll have my first prenatal ultrasound – that’s when I’ll be able to see and hear this creature.  Maybe then I’ll be excited enough to actually tell someone besides my husband about our joy.  We still haven’t told friends or family (which is part of the reason I started this new blog away from my mom’s cyber-stalking…).

Child birth can be this comfortable.

PS – I strongly encourage anyone considering using the services of a mid-wife to go for it!  Their care is FAR superior to that of a Family Dr – after all delivering babies is what they specialize in!  Here’s a link the Association of Ontario Midwives – you can contact them for more information concerning midwifery.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

